Escalope Florentine ala Carmen

Today I got a zipped email of what’s cooking in the Swedish Chef’s kitchen.  Veal steaks,  2 cups of spinach blanched, a cup of sliced button mushroom. ¼ cup of flour, cooking cream, butter, salt and pepper for seasoning, and chopped parsley.

IMAG0153

 “ Okay so tell me about it. Where’s the finished product?” I asked hoping to get his instructions right.

 “Well I made two portions, but I had it one sitting,” said the Swedish Chef.

Did I hear him right? Does that mean he finished all the steak and didn’t save any for me? And I am supposed to describe his recipe!  What and how can I describe a dish I haven’t even tried?

Oh well. Coming from the  Swedish Chef’s Kitchen, I am sure it was delicious. He did say he finished two portions, didn’t he?

Main ingredient is veal steaks, about  3 medium slices of veal steaks. Dredge the veal steaks lightly in flour. Heat skillet and drizzle virgin olive oil. Pan sear the veal for one minute on each side. IMAG0156A

While steaks are cooking, prepare the béchamel sauce. (Don’t ask me how many hands he used to cook the meat and make the sauce at the same time. I wasn’t surprise when he complimented himself saying, “I am a good cook.” I’ve seen him do his cooking in the kitchen, and I say he is fast. This dish took 5 minutes to prepare and 20 minutes in the oven, and a whole lot of time to spare for other things in between prepping and cooking time.) IMAG0157

For the béchamel sauce:  In small skillet,  heat the butter in medium heat. Stir in 1 tbsp flour,  pinch of salt, and dash of pepper and stir for about a minute until it becomes pasty. Pour  in cooking cream and continue stirring until it becomes thick consistency.  No onions but still tasted perfect!

In a baking pan or dish, arrange in layers the blanched spinach, veal and  mushroom.

IMAG0155A

IMAG0158

IMAG0159

Pour béchamel sauce on top and sprinkle chopped parsley. Bake in oven 200C for 20 minutes.  Serve warm.

IMAG0161

Before we called it a day, I asked the Swedish Chef, “And what’s your closing statement for this dish? ” He just grinned and said, “Eat it from the top..and lick up the leftovers.”

And here is my followup request :  to include a zipped veal steak for me next time. Warm..very warm.. 

Leave a Reply

